Thu, Oct

Sakhi, Kalimzai elected as deputy chairmen of Senate


Meshrano jirga

The Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon (upper house of parliament on Wednesday elected Farhad Sakhi  and Hasibullah Kalimzai as deputy chairmen, Abdul Qarlaq as secretary and Najiba Hussaini as deputy secretary.

Prior to the administrative board elections, Mohammad Alam Ezidyar was first deputy chairman, Mohammad Asif Siddiqui second deputy chairman, Abdullah Qarlaq secretary and Najiba Hussaini deputy secretary.Article 87 of the constitution states:  “Each of the two houses of the National Assembly, at the commencement of their work period, shall elect one member as president … and two members as first and second deputies and two members as secretary and assistant secretary for a period of one year.“These individuals shall form the administrative teams of the House of People as well as House of Elders. Duties of the administrative teams shall be determined by the Regulations on Internal Duties of each house.”Recently, the Meshrano Jirga decided not to appoint its administrative board till the introducing of two-thirds of the senators. But on Tuesday, the lawmakers agreed to conduct administrative boardelections.Ezidyar and Sakhi were in the run for the first deputy chairman of the house. Sakhi grabbed 34 of the 65 votes cast.Kalimzai and Siddiqui raced ran for the 2nd deputy chairman slot. Kalimzai got 43 votes to win the position.Qarlaq and Gul Ahmad Azami were candidates for the secretary position. Qarlaq won the race by winning 35 votes. Najiba Hussaini defeated her rival Qais in the electionfor deputy secretary by bagging 34 ballots.